Skip to Content

Brian Ekey

LewisGale Hospital Montgomery physician receives regional EMS award.

July 19, 2022
Brian Ekey holding the Dr. Cheryl B. Haas Award for Outstanding EMS Physician while posing with Devin Tobin, chief operations officer, and two other female team members.

Brian Ekey, DO, Emergency Medicine Specialist with LewisGale Hospital Montgomery, was recently honored with the Dr. Cheryl B. Haas Award for Outstanding EMS Physician by the Western Virginia Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council.

The Dr. Cheryl B. Haas Award is presented to an EMS physician who exemplifies outstanding leadership and dedication in the exercise of prehospital care.

Ekey, who also serves as the Operational Medical Director for the Blacksburg Volunteer Rescue Squad, was presented the award during the Western Virginia EMS Council 2022 regional recognition ceremony.

“It’s a privilege to serve the Blacksburg Volunteer Rescue Squad as well as practice at LewisGale Hospital Montgomery” Ekey said. “I humbly accept this award on behalf of my fellow providers as well as the 200 members who volunteer their time and proudly serve the Town of Blacksburg and parts of Montgomery County with emergency medical and rescue services.”

Each year, the Western Virginia Emergency Medical Services Council proudly recognizes the outstanding service demonstrated by its EMS providers during the council’s regional awards recognition ceremony. Recipients of this year’s regional awards will move forward and compete for the 2022 Governor’s EMS Awards.

“On behalf of LewisGale Hospital Montgomery, we are incredibly proud of Dr. Ekey for his dedication and commitment to our patients and the New River Valley community,” said Devin Tobin, chief operations officer. “Dr. Ekey has proven his excellence by going above and beyond the call of duty time and time again.”

July 19, 2022
LewisGale Hospital Montgomery